My birth certificate ordeal By Imelda Duduzile Moyo My name is Andile Moyo and I am 22 years old. I was born in South Africa and my parents split when I was 5.My parents were cohabitating and my father never paid my mother’s bride price and neither do my maternal relatives know my father. My mother had to send me to Zimbabwe so that I could be raised by my distant maternal aunt Sandisoso that my mother could get a job and support me and cater for all my needs. When I turned five I had to go to school and no school could enroll me with a South African birth certificate and I had to spend another year without going to school and because no one could enroll me, I had to use my cousin’s birth certificate and go to a totally different school so that I would not be caught. When I sat for my grade seven examinations I had to lie and I told my teacher, I had lost my birth certificate and I wrote my grade seven examinations. I passed my grade seven examinations and I went to form one at a local school. My mother passed away when I was thirteen and my dreams of having a birth certificate came crushing down. That is the time I discovered my maternal aunt I was living with was a distant relative and she could not help me obtain a birth certificate. My maternal aunt Sandiso tried to obtain a birth certificate for me but all her effort were in vain because she could not prove how she was related to my mother as they were distant cousins. At that time all my mother’s siblings were in South Africa and with time we lost contact with all of them. When the time came to write my O level examinations, I tried the story I had used when I was in grade seven and this time around, my headmaster would not budge and I had to drop out of school because I knew if I used my cousin’s birth certificate I would be caught and this would be the story of the decade.Dropping out of school meant that I had two choices to stay at home or get a job and since I could not get a job I had to stay at home and help with the household chores and this really broke my heart. About 3 years after dropping out of school I got in contact with my maternal aunt who could prove that she was my mother’s sibling. This was an enormous breakthrough but I had no know how of the next step to take next. A friend of mine told me about child line and I went to their offices to seek assistance. When I got to Childline, they referred me to Trinity Project where they assisted my by giving legal advice and giving me the money to go and register .I have since registered with the help of my aunt and I am waiting to go and collect my birth certificate. Next year, I am going back to school and I intend to write my examinations in November. I will have a bright future, thanks to Trinity Project.

Leave a Reply

