What ever happened to good old radio……my first love.

I have always been a huge fan of radio. I have firmly believed that it is one of the most powerful mediums to disseminate information and a form of entertainment. Whilst other children were dreaming of being teachers and nurses, I was dreaming of being a radio presenter, but because my peers never thought it was really a career worth having I also wanted to be a doctor. Radio is probably one of the things that helped me to have a vivid imagination.
Before radio was commercialized, one could easily come back home and unwind with a radio presenter reading a novel on air or to a radio drama or even better a folktale .I remember the first time, I got to know of the book “Umendo” by Barbra Makhalisa was through a radio show. I anticipated the next reading of the book. I would always make me visualize the character in the book and how each of them played a part in the thickening of the plot.
Some people became famous through the 60 minutes of fame on Power Fm. I remember the day my letter was read on air and Leander Kandiero played my 15 favorite songs. It was such an amazing feeling to get to know about other people and know what made them tick and what made them smile and their dreams…

The children also got a big slice of the big cake; they also got to hear folktales on the radio. They did not have to go visit their grandmothers to hear a folktale; they had their “on air” grandmother who was there every day at 4pm to tell them a folktale.I was always one of those children who waited anxiously for the folktales because i loved a good story. Though I knew the stories were not entirely true, I always knew that behind every story there was a lesson. A lesson that was there to make me a better person, for example kindness dominated in most of the stories and now I know why.

Besides the folktales the children were also involved in phone in programmes. Though the idea was to involve children, it was fun to phone in and talk to you favorite DJ, request your favorite song and greeting your friends was the cherry on top.
The older generation got their chance of fame and phone in programme through a popular show on Radio 2 now Radio Zimbabwe, “kwaziso ukubingelelana’’. Back then people were really proud of where they came from and they would write all the information you would want to know about them and they would greet most of their relatives and seal off the letter with a list of their favorite songs that the DJ would later select a few that would be played for the listeners.
Nowadays radio has been commercialized and I feel like radio is there to make money more than educate, entertain and inform. I feel like it has been too modernized and commercialized and where tune in, it is all about either celebrity culture or love or music. Yes we want to keep abreast with the latest news, gossip and trends, but once in a while it wouldn’t be a bad idea to come home to old fashioned programme.

Old fashioned isn’t that bad anyway,you know what they say, the older the berry the sweeter the juice…I am waiting anxiously for the programming of the new radio stations that will start broadcasting in August and others that will start broadcasting in September.# fingerscrossed

in September… #fingerscrossed

Leave a Reply

